Monday, September 19, 2016

National Technical Honor Society 2016-17

On Tuesday evening, September 27th, Vantage Career Center will be holding our annual National Technical Honor Society banquet and induction ceremony. The National Technical Honor Society (NTHS) is a way to honor student achievement and leadership in career and technical education, promote educational excellence, award scholarships and enhance career opportunities for the NTHS membership.

To become an NTHS member, a student must first be carrying a 3.5 GPA or above, have 95% attendance for their Junior and Senior years, no discipline problems in both years and have passed all of their Ohio Graduation Tests. If the student meets the above mentioned criteria, then they must write an essay stating why they feel they belong in the NTHS, have four teacher recommendations, submit a resume and complete their application. Once all this is turned in, a committee of teachers and staff meet to discuss each candidate and determine which students best represent the NTHS.

As a member of the National Technical Honor Society, each member has met the seven character attributes, and at the induction ceremony, vow to continue these attributes. They are: Skill, Honesty, Service, Responsibility, Leadership, Citizenship and Scholarship.

I am so proud of these students because they have made so many great choices in their lives. They not only have been successful here at Vantage and their home school, but I know they will be successful in their future college or work careers. If you happen to see these students in the hallway or in your classes, please congratulate them on a great high school career and a great honor in being selected for the National Technical Honor Society. This is a very small percentage of our student body (roughly 5%), but they truly are the best of the best.


Shown in picture front row left to right.

Cooper Clouse (Parkway), Michael Taylor (Antwerp), Joe Callow (Crestview), Daniel Sinn (Wayne Trace), Josiah Dealey (Crestview), Ryan Hoersten (Ft. Jennings), Andrew Foust (Delphos Jefferson), Nathan Klima (Wayne Trace), Kaleb Hanicq (Ottoville), Thomas Waldick (Ottoville), Bryce Hoehn (Ottoville), 2nd row L-R: Alexie Bennett (Antwerp), Trishakay Summers(Crestview), Angela Tenwalde (Kalida), Brittany Batten (Paulding), Julie Holbrooks (Wayne Trace), Aubrey Kremer (Paulding), Andrea Kremer (Paulding), Madison Shepherd (Lincolnview), Halie Hileman (Parkway), Alexa Plescher (Delphos Jefferson), Kenedy Painter (Parkway) (missing Kelsey Shaffer - Crestview)

No comments:

Post a Comment